Scatter Joy

Well, here it is…the long-awaited first post of my first ever attempt at blogging!  I’m a nervous wreck about this and hopefully you can follow along as I’m likely to make mistakes in grammar, punctuation, and probably just about every other aspect of on-line culture.    I’m not perfect, far from it, as many of you know.

I was shopping today, Small Business Saturday it so happened to be, and came across a small pillow that struck me in so many ways.  It was a throw pillow, you know the kind, like the ones you see on friends’ couches but are afraid to really use as a pillow (because drool marks on those types of pillows are really just super inappropriate in every social circle).  But, I LOVED this pillow.  I even took a picture of it with my phone and posted it on Instagram.  I know.  How completely ridiculous.  Even my 11 year old son looked at me and said, “What are you doing?!?”  I, like any good mom would do, replied, “taking a picture so Dad will know what to buy me.” Don’t judge, you know you’ve done something similar.

Here’s the thing – I didn’t buy the pillow, but should have.  It was even my favorite color!  But I couldn’t justify spending $20 whole dollars on a pillow the size of a hardcover book.    That’s not what’s bugging me about the pillow.  What’s bothering me is the simple message printed on the pillow – “Scatter Joy” was all it said.  Scatter…like a dandelion scatters seeds, like a 15 month old scatters Cheerios, like an 11 year old boy scatters Legos, simply scatter joy.  I absolutely love this phrase – Scatter joy.  Two words that impacted me when I least expected it.  Scatter joy.  I will, will you?

scatter joy pillow

One thought on “Scatter Joy

Leave a Reply

